Who has a space program?

A lot of countries claim to have a "space program" - 70 countries as of 2015. Only three currently operating government space agencies in the world - NASA, the RFSA (Russia) and the CNSA (China) are capable of human spaceflight, which is the gold standard for space programs.

Earth Satellite

Government space agencies

Six government space agencies - the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO), the European Space Agency (ESA), the China National Space Administration (CNSA), the Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA), the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) and the Russian Federal Space Agency (RFSA or Roscosmos)...

Which countries are in space?

Only three nations (Soviet Union/Russia, U.S., China) have launched their own manned spacecraft, with the Soviets/Russians and the American programs providing rides to other nations' astronauts. Twenty-six "first flights" occurred on Soviet or Russian flights while the United States carried thirteen.